All Progressives Congress ’ Babatunde Ojo on Saturday won the Oriade Constituency, Osun State House of Assembly rerun .

The party ’ s candidates for Ekiti East Constituency I in Ekiti State House of Assembly and Ibeju - Lekki Constituency I of Lagos State in the supplementary poll were also declared winners.

The Independent National Electoral Commission had declared the March 9 election in the Osun area inconclusive, after suspected thugs disrupted voting in five polling units in Ward 8 of Oriade Local Government Area .

Announcing the results of the rerun , the Returning Officer, Mr Lukman Adebayo , said Ojo polled 12 , 088 votes to emerge as winner , while Pelumi Olajengbesi of the Peoples Democratic Party scored 9 , 913 votes to place second .

In the March 9 poll , Ojo polled 11 , 386 votes , while Olajengbesi had 9 , 904 votes .

The APC now has 23 seats, leaving the PDP with three in the state House of Assembly.

In Ekiti, INEC declared the candidate of the APC , Mr Juwa Adegbuyi, winner of the Ekiti East Constituency I in Ekiti State House of Assembly election.

The Returning Officer, Chika Asogwa, said Adegbuyi secured 5 , 484 votes to beat his closest rival, the deputy leader of government business in the state House of Assembly and PDP ’ s candidate , Fajana Ojo -Ade, who garnered 3 , 258 votes .

Asogwa, who declared the results of the supplementary election held in five units of the constituency and the results from March 9 election in other units in the constituency on Saturday, said, “I confirm that Adegbuyi of the APC , having satisfied the requirements of the law and secured the highest number of votes , is hereby declared the winner and returned elected . ”

With Adegbuyi’ s victory after the supplementary election on Saturday, the APC has won all the 26 House of Assembly seats in the state.

The APC ’ s candidate for the Ibeju - Lekki Constituency I of Lagos State , Mr Mojeed Fatai, was declared winner of the rerun .

The Returning Officer, Prof Rasheed Ojikutu, declared Fatai the winner having secured 9 , 484 votes to defeat his rival of the PDP , Tari Oliver , who got 1 , 901 votes .

Ojikutu stated that out of a total of 122 , 442 registered voters, only 12 , 245 were accredited for the exercise .

INEC had declared the election inconclusive as a result of over-voting in nine polling units, covering two registration areas of the constituency .

Add comment

Security code